Early morning surprises

I woke up earlier than intended this morning, and before going back to sleep pulled my iPhone out of the drawer and checked my e-mail. I know this sounds compulsive, but I frequently work until 2 a.m. or later, so I generally sleep a little later. Many in the company start work before I do (okay, most in the company start work before I do), so I check to make sure there is no emergency that requires me to get up “early”. Ok, yes, this is compulsive, but I can’t help myself.

I saw an e-mail from the MVP Lead who had requested information from me when I was nominated earlier this year by my friend Beth Massi. Beth had told me she thought the awards were handed out in January, so I just figured the MVP Lead was asking for more information. I squinted and tried to read the e-mail (have you ever tried to read e-mail on an iPhone? It’s really tiny, and I wasn’t cognizant enough to do the un-pinch-y-finger-move to make it bigger). I thought the e-mail said I had been awarded an MVP award.

I figured I was delusional, being a little sleep-deprived this week preparing for my talks and still trying to work my usual number of hours, so I put on my glasses and tried again, and it still said I had been awarded an MVP award. So I took the glasses off, cleaned them on my shirt, put them back on, and it still said I had been awarded an MVP award. So I called Beth.

Having been awake for about 60 seconds, I wasn’t terribly coherent, but Beth finally figured out what I was trying to tell her. She was very happy for me. After that e-mail, how could I possibly go back to sleep?

This was a surprise to me. I knew I had been nominated, but wasn’t sure it would happen because my expertise is in such a niche area (ClickOnce Deployment, in case you didn’t get that from the Blog title), and I wasn’t sure I was worthy. And apparently I was wrong about January.

I feel very honored and am grateful to my friend Beth Massi for nominating me. In fact, she blogged about me today, and it made me feel a little teary-eyed. It’s really nice to be appreciated.

I’ve made a GoldMail explaining why I got an MVP Award, and explaining the benefits and fun I’m going to have, including next year’s MVP Summit (Geekfest!!). I will continue blogging about ClickOnce (new features in 4.0 coming soon!!) and evangelizing and answering questions in the MSDN Forums. Hope you enjoy the GoldMail!

View in browser

8 Responses to “Early morning surprises”

  1. Logan Says:

    Great stuff 🙂

    I’m hoping to get to where you are someday. I still have plenty to learn, but that’s why I’m an avid fan of Beth. There’s no words to describe how much she’s done for me without realising it.

    And now I’ve found your blog too, I’ll have another rss feed to read everyday 🙂

    I’ve heard of ClickOnce, but never looked at it… Sounds interesting.

    • robindotnet Says:

      That’s a great goal. There’s so much to learn, I always feel like I don’t know enough. But I think that’s a better place to be than thinking I know everything! If you keep working at it, you’ll get to where you want to be.

      Beth is really amazing in many ways. Aside from being wicked smart, she’s a great friend, too. I’ve learned a lot from her. I think her blog and community participation have helped a LOT of people (myself included). Microsoft is lucky to have her.

      Another resource you might also want to check out is Deborah Kurata’s blog — there’s a link to it on my front page. She’s blogging a lot these days on all kinds of topics. She runs the East Bay .NET User Group meetings that Beth and I help out at, and she is also a Microsoft MVP, and absolutely brilliant.

      Best of luck.

  2. bill burrows Says:

    Congratulations Robin!

    bill burrows (VB MVP)

  3. Fergal Reilly Says:

    Congrats on the MVP, just discovered this site through a Beth Massi’s (hello, relational blogging!) and its definately getting added to my list.

    I (may) have a question or two regarding clickonce, that I would like to suggest as topics at some point (I have to read your previous entries to ensure you havent already covered it first). Is there anywhere in particular that its best to put them forward?

Leave a Reply

