San Francisco Bay Area Azure meetup 11-14-2011

I’ll be speaking at the SF Bay Area Azure meetup on November 14th. The meetup is at 6:30 p.m. at the San Francisco Microsoft offices close to the Powell St BART station. I’m giving my Azure for Developers talk, which focuses on code, but I’ll also share tips and tricks I learned while migrating my company’s infrastructure to Windows Azure.

In this talk, I’ll show you how to migrate your local SQLServer database to SQL Azure. Then I’ll write a WCF service that accesses a SQL Azure database. The WCF service runs in a web role in Windows Azure, and I’ll show how to set up diagnostics for it, and how to call it from a desktop client.

Then I’ll change the WCF service to include the ability to write an entry to a queue. I’ll add a worker role and show how to retrieve the entry from the queue and process it – I’ll write it to blob storage.

Then I’ll change the service to run against Windows Azure Table Storage instead of SQL Azure so you can see what that looks like.

We end up with a working desktop application that calls our WCF service in Azure, processes queue entries in a worker role, and runs against either SQLAzure or Windows Azure Table Storage.

This should give you a good idea how to leverage your current C# or VB .NET skills into the Azure world. Hope to see you there!

Tags:

One Response to “San Francisco Bay Area Azure meetup 11-14-2011”

  1. Malathi.p Says:

    your blogs look fine for developers. Students and teachers are deprived, as they cannot use genuine windows azure free trials without credit cards and promocode of countries like india. Please provide solution

Leave a Reply

